NAHB Recognizes Local and National Leaders in Residential Construction Safety

NAHB named 14 winners for the 11th annual NAHB/Builders Mutual Insurance Company Safety Award for Excellence (SAFE) for their commitment to strong safety programs. The winners were recognized at the SAFE reception held during the International Builders’ Show in Orlando.

The awards recognize member companies, workers and other individuals for the excellent safety programs that make them leaders in the residential construction industry.

“It gives me great pleasure to recognize the recipients of this year’s SAFE awards,” said NAHB Construction, Safety and Health Committee Chairman Carl Harris, a builder and the co-founder of Carl Harris Co. Inc. from Wichita, Kansas. “Safety is no longer an afterthought in our industry. Our employees and our reputations are too valuable to put at risk. Safety should be in forefront of every project, from budget through completion, and we wish to recognize those individuals and companies that have demonstrated a commitment to safety above and beyond the industry standard.”

HBA of Metro Denver Local Winners are indicated by highlighting in yellow:

NAHB Safety Professional of the Year

Jeff Palumbo, Shea Homes, Colorado

NAHB-Affiliated Association Safety Program of the Year

HBA of Metro Denver

Federal/State Plan OSHA Official of the Year

Chad D. Vivian, Englewood, Colo.

Single-Family Builders Safety Program of the Year

Shea Homes

Rinaldi Builders LLC, Madisonville, La.

Summit Custom Homes, Lees Summit, Mo.

Multifamily Safety Program of the Year 

Andres Construction LLC, Dallas

Remodeler Safety Program of the Year

Irons Brothers Construction, Inc., Seattle

Innovative Safety Program/Idea of the Year

NterNow, Marietta, Ga.

Associate Member Safety Program of the Year

Iacoboni Site Specialists Inc., Baltimore

Judges Special Recognition Award

Habitat for Humanity International, Americus, Ga.

NAHB Student Chapter Safety Program of the Year – High Schools/Career Technical

Shadow Ridge High School, Surprise, Colo.

NAHB Student Chapter Safety Program of the Year – Colleges/Universities

State University of New York at Delhi

Leadership in Construction Safety Award

Don Pratt, Construction Education & Consulting Services, Auburn Hills, Mich.

For additional information on the SAFE awards, please visit

Follow Us on Facebook Join Us on LinkedIn