Recap: Installation and Recognition Reception
Congratulations Annual Awards Recipients and 2018 HBA Board of Directors
The Home Builders Association of Metro Denver held the 2018 Installation and Recognition Reception on Wednesday December 6th, 2017 at Palazzo Verdi in Greenwood Village. The ceremonies were emceed by legendary HBA member S. Robert August. It was a celebratory evening as Karl Knapp, 2017 President of the HBA welcomed 2018 HBA President Scott Moberg, Owner of Denver area home builder Joyce Homes. The HBA also presented the highly coveted awards for Builder of the Year, Volunteer of the Year, and Associate of the Year. 

Annual Award Winners Pat Hamill, Stewart Miller and Karna Pryor
Jeff Whiton, Chief Executive Officer of the HBA began the night by highlighting several industry accomplishments from 2017 before turning his attention to the specific achievements of 2017 HBA President and President of CVL Consultants, Karl Knapp. “Many challenges have been thrown Karl’s way.  I’ve been a member of the HBA since 1985 and have known all of the HBA Presidents for the past 32 years.  I can attest that Karl has a unique quality that has provided presidential leadership.  It is an innate gyroscope that has put our association on the pathway to prosperity.” Whiton recalled. Whiton also noted that Karl “implemented a renewed focus on strategic growth of our membership to promote sustainability and expanded collective community voice.” 
Among many accomplishments, under Knapp’s watch over the last four years, the HBA made the biggest advance on the construction defect issue in 10 years, with the passage of the ordinances in 19 Metro Denver jurisdictions.  The passage of HB1279 requiring a vote of home owners before a lawsuit can be filed, and the favorable ruling by the Supreme Court on the Vallagio litigation – that will encourage much needed affordable condominium development. Whiton pointed out that the HBA estimates “that these advocacy actions have saved home builders an estimated $100 million in 2017; that is an incredible return on investment for our members that contributed just $700,000 in dues and assessments.”
As the evening proceeded, a whole-hearted thank you and applause were given to the serving 2017 HBA Board Members, and subsequently the 2018 Board Members and Executive Committee were installed. With that, Scott Moberg took the 2018 HBA presidential oath and was presented with the customary gavel and president’s pin. Moberg laid out his agenda for 2018, which includes continuing to work side-by-side with the Colorado Home Building Academy to put skilled workers into the workforce and continuing efforts to streamline process and procedure to grow membership and maintain the financial stability of the HBA.  He also plans to improve communications to our members to get the word out about all the great things the HBA does for our association’s member companies. 
After the induction of Moberg, the HBA presented the 2017 Awards for Builder, Associate, and Volunteer of the Year. 
The presentation of the highly anticipated award for Builder of the Year was given to Pat Hamill, CEO of Oakwood Homes. Hamill, a 30-year housing industry volunteer was honored for his copious contributions and countless hours of sharing his expertise.  Most recently, Hamill set out to create an industry-led training academy to fuel the pipeline for skilled workers, inform more people about the benefits of a career in this field, and help support a vibrant, growing economy. Oakwood Homes provided funding to create what has ultimately become Colorado Homebuilding Academy. Pat Hamill accepted his award in absentia through a thoughtful and eloquent video acknowledgement that was shared with reception attendees. 
The Associate of the Year was awarded to Stewart Miller, General Manager of VanDyk Construction and industry veteran of more than 40 years.  Stu was the 2017 Chair of the Trade Council, with which he has been involved since its inception. Stu deserves the credit for the Trade Council’s development of the “Jobsite Readiness Checklist” which was a major accomplishment of the Trade Council in 2017.  He is a former Chair of the JobSite Safety Committee, and has been actively involved in that Committee for more than 20 years.  Stu is currently working toward his Certified Graduate Builder (CGB) Designation through NAHB.
The Volunteer of the Year award was presented to Karna Pryor, Marketing Manager at TRI Pointe Homes for her ongoing dedication and commitment to the HBA and the homebuilding industry. Karna has volunteered countless hours on the Parade of Homes for the past 3 years, the last two years as Chair, most recently elevating the stories and passion behind home building through the #MYPARADEINSPIRATION campaign. Pryor has also sat on the Executive Committee of the Professional Women in Building Council board, and is a charter member of that council where she is known for her meticulous approach in putting on exceptional PWB events.
The 2018 Board of Directors are:
Executive Committee
  • Scott Moberg, Joyce Homes, President
  • Heidi Majerik, Wonderland Homes, President-Elect
  • Mark Bailey, Toll Brothers Homes, VP-Secretary
  • Angela Harris, Trio Environments, VP-Teasurer
  • Jennifer Williams, KGA Studio Architects, Council Board Chair
  • Karl Knapp, CVL Consultants, Past President, Ex Officio
2018 Directors
  • Cindy Bell, Saddleback Design, Professional Women in Building Council Chair
  • Peter Benson, Koelbel & Company, Elected Builder
  • David Bracht, Oakwood Homes, Elected Builder
  • Jason Brown, Ascent Builders, Elected Builder
  • Devin Bundy, McClure Concrete, Trade Council Chair
  • Craig Campbell, Starwood Land Ventures, Past Presdients Committee Chair
  • Randy Carpenter, KB Home, Elected Builder
  • Tim Craft, Craft Companies, President's Appointed Builder
  • Rick Dengler, Brookfield Residential, Elected Builder
  • Aaron Foy, BLVD Builders, Government Affairs Committee Chair
  • Stephanie Graham, TRI Pointe Homes, Young Leaders Council Chair
  • Forrest Hancock, Forest City, Elected Builder
  • Tom Kaufman, Dunton Real Estate, Metro Housing Coalition Chair
  • Greg Krause, Metropolitan Homes, Elected Builder
  • Dave Lemnah, Lokal Homes, President's Appointed Builder
  • Robert Lindley, Canyon Title, Associate Member Appointment
  • Sarah McDaniel, BAC-Ferguson, Custom Builder & Remodeler Council Chair
  • Jeff McGovern, William Lyon Homes, Elected Builder
  • Alisa Poncher, William Lyon Homes, Sales & Marketing Council Chair
  • Karna Pryor, TRI Pointe Homes, Parade of Homes Committee Chair
  • Bill Rectanus, Thrive Home Builders, Elected Builder
  • Michael Smith, Colorado Homebuilding Academy, Associate Member Appointment
  • Hope Marie Sneed, BSB Design, Associate Member Council Chair
  • Jeff Stone, Artisan Shop, Flatirons Building Council Chair
  • Heidi Tackett, Gateway Mortgage, Council Board Co-Chair
  • David Ware, McStain Neighborhoods, Elected Builder
  • Bill Wood, Epic Homes, Home Builders Foundation Chair
  • Randy Feuerstein, Polsineli, HBA Board Counsel

Follow Us on Facebook Join Us on LinkedIn